Net Worth Update (July 2017)

Ted
Not even my brothers cat was impressed with this month’s savings rate!

Previous update here.

Quick Summary: My goal has been to keep my savings rate in the high 20% range, but July was an exceptional flop! This was mainly due to a much lower income which essentially covered expenses with a little room to breathe. It was a productive month though, so better news in my August report. Cash decreased slightly, as did my retirement and investment portfolios (a volatile month). Debts decreased slightly, but my student loan (HECS/HELP debt) had its indexation of inflation applied, so it increased $547 (ouch!). Overall, my net worth was down nearly $1k for the month.

Savings Rate: 4.83%

Assets:
Cash: $3,639 decreased 4.74%
Superannuation: $38,218 down 1.41%
Investments: $9,185 down 1.79% (market return)
Other Assets: $10,495 down 1.20%

Total Assets: $61,537 down 1.63%

Liabilities:
Credit Cards : ($1,333)
Student Loans: ($32,231) indexed 1.73%
Business Loan: ($13,500) reduced 1.82%
Other Liabilities: ($21,500) steady

Total Liabilities: ($68,564) decreased 0.26%

Net Worth: ($7,027) decreased 13.58%

 

Screenshot 2017-08-04 10.36.33.png

As always, thanks for following along.

How did your net worth and savings rate look this month?

Notes.

  1. Cash consists of online savings accounts. I moved away from carrying cash in Q1 2015 and make 95% of my transactions electronically, for more accurate and up to date record keeping. I have a small transaction account holding around a tenth of my cash funds with the balance held in an ’emergency fund’ and a smaller account for rent savings/payments, both in modest interest bearing accounts (2-3%p.a.).
  2. Superannuation is the Government mandated retirement savings system in Australia
  3. Other Assets consists of one car at market value, depreciating monthly.
  4. Student Loans consist of the HECS/HELP debt provided by the Australian Government,  indexed to inflation. The loan repayments are based on taxable income, with repayments required from taxable incomes of $54,869p.a. or more in 2016/17.
  5. Other Liabilities consist of two loans which are interest free.
14 thoughts on “Net Worth Update (July 2017)

  1. My HECS went up as well. It sucks to see, but luckily my overall portfolio was up so I’m happy to keep investing and slowly chipping away at that.

    Variable income would be hard to work with, hopefully as you say there is more good news in August 🙂

    Like

    1. It’s that time of year huh Miss B. Great your portfolio increased, on the cusp of reporting season hopefully it shows a nice return over the next couple months too. The variable income isn’t too bad but does take a bit of planning, I’m slowly figuring it out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Hopefully 1 step back for 2 steps forward 🙂 It’s impossible for every month’s net worth to increase so it’s okay it went backwards this month. In the long run it’s going up and the trend looks good since last October 🙂

    Looking forward to seeing what August brings!

    Mr DDU

    Like

  3. J @ Hey, It's Just Money!

    “…with little room to breathe.” There was room left! That is always a good thing, isn’t it? 🙂 It seems that last month’s performance were influenced heavily by things beyond your control, I think you still did well. 🙂 Great job for making the most out of of July.

    Also, I’m 100% sure your cat is judging me.

    Like

    1. Thanks for the encouragement J. I was pretty happy to keep my savings rate above water, that was a definite plus, I think when I start putting money aside for tax again it will find a lower long term average but I’m glad just to have cream to skim off the top.

      Like

Leave a Reply

